good music for bad moods.


I’d say I had a bad weekend, but it’s probably been longer than that.  This isn’t the blog for the specifics, though, is it?  You don’t want to hear that.  It’s all out of context for you anyway.  What I lost or who is dying…it’s a sad shoulder shrug somewhere.

But music is one thing I guess most of us can relate to.  So here are some tracks for when you’re feeling as crappy as I am.  Note: the idea is not necessarily that these songs make you feel better, just that they resonate.

N*E*R*D – Breakout

One of my favorites.  Sometimes you just feel like pushing people for no reason, right?  Or maybe that’s just me.  If so, watch your step at the movie store.  I’m liable to murk you in the depressing movies aisle.

Joe Budden – Unforgiven

Good for when you’re feeling doubted or destined to always stop just short.  Pretty easy to relate to this, I think.  The Metallica cover helps to slow it down to the appropriate tone-setting beat.  The last verse is particularly resonant when you’re in a crappy mood.

The Roots – Clock With No Hands

Actually, I love this song even in a good mood.  You know how people are sometimes convinced a certain song was written about their life?  I think this is mine.  Black Thought smoothly lays down some incredibly deep lines.  And the hook makes perfect sense to me, especially when I want to listen to it and no one else around me.

Gnarls Barkley – Who Cares?

“You see everybody is somebody, but nobody wants to be themselves.  And if I wanted to understand you, I’d have to talk to someone else.”  Yup.  What Cee-Lo Green said.

Bear Colony – Sharks

The chorus might be borderline emo-y, but when you’re in a bad mood you really won’t care.  Besides, it opens a fantastic album.  “And they’ll treat you like you’re dead, just to get inside your head.”  That they will.

R.E.M. – Why Not Smile [alternate version]

This is the grand slam for bad mood songs.  I’m glad that it’s just shy of cheery.  There’s still enough melancholy to let it really fit the mood, but the lyrics are mostly uplifting.  When this plays at the end of 12 and Holding…man, I get chills down my back.  Perfect song for that moment, if you know what I’m talking about.

Guster – Rainy Day

The most painfully obvious one, but I don’t care.  This is a “music for bad moods” list, not a “cool music you’ve never heard of list.”  And I’ll be damned if this doesn’t suit the occasion perfectly.

Anyway, that’s what I got.  Maybe I’ll shift to more uplifting stuff sometime soon.  But I’m not up for that yet.

Leave a comment

Filed under hip hop

Leave a Reply

